Recorded in Tokyo, Halmstad, Gothenburg, Copenhagen, New York, Paris & Malmö between March 2015 and January 2017, Hällkvist’s music embraces swirling electronica, big grooves saturated with squalling lead guitar, dreamy sojourns, febrile electro-acoustic explorations, free-form improvisation and incendiary flashes of stirring themes, unsettling noir-ish soundtracks and anthemic post-rock landscapes.

Across Variety of Rhythm’s 45-minute duration Hällkvist fashions a narrative that places bold, contrasting themes that slip smoothly between formal composition and extended variations through to speculative improvisations. With each section,
the album resonates with the contributions of his collaborators which are crafted into exquisitely sculpted sounds and textures.

  • Samuel Hällkvist, guitar
  • Dick Lövgren, bass
  • David Torn, guitar
  • Liesbeth Lambrecht, violin
  • Pete Drungle, keys
  • Yasuhiro Yoshigaki, drums
  • Kumiko Takara, perc
  • Qarin Wikström, voice
  • Knut Finsrud, drums
  • Paulo Chagas, sax
  • Silvia Corda, misc
  • Adriano Orru, bass
  • Katrine Amsler, edit, sound design, programming
Released October 13, 2017
C'est BPCD024